Jane Austen

Jane Austen

  • UK

Jane Austen was born on December 16, 1775 in Steventon, Hampshire (England) in the family of a rural parish priest. Jane began to write at the age of 14.  

Her work is traditionally divided into two periods, separated by more than ten years. The early period (the second half of the 1790s), the novel “Northanger Abbey”, parodying the fashionable in those days “Gothic” novels, as well as the first versions of the two most famous works of Austen: “Sense and Sensibility” and “Pride and Prejudice. ” Later both were subjected to repeated and deep processing. And the late period, in which the last three completed Austen’s novels were written: “Mansfield Park”, “Emma” and “Persuasion”. “Pride and Prejudice”, published during the author’s life anonymously, in three editions, brought her some success, but a significant transition in her posthumous reputation occurred in 1833, when her novels were republished in Richard Bentley’s Standard Novels series, illustrated by Ferdinand Pickering, and sold as a set. 

The work of Austin turned out to be very cinematic, as evidenced by the numerous screen versions of her novels. Among them was Ang Lee’s Oscar winning film “Sense and Sensibility” (1995) and the Franco-British version of “Pride and Prejudice” (2005) with Keira Knightley in the lead role.

Stories by this

© The Short Story Project 2022

Made with ☕ and 🚬 by Oddity


Oops, this is a personal area feature.
The personal area is only available to subscribed users. Sign up now for free to enjoy all the personal area features.